top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharles Smith

Finding Your Storytelling Style

Many of my upcoming blogs will focus on storytelling skills. Before beginning that emphasis, I want to be clear. You have your own unique style. The sound of your voice, the way you move, your facial expressions, and the content of your stories are special. You are not an automaton in action.

In my workshop of storytelling, I invited a children's librarian storyteller from Topeka to participate as a leader. Instead of a simple story for young ones, she told the group a ghost story that many years later still makes me tremble. As a black woman, she revealed her style in the rhythm and pace of her voice. Her story emerged from her life experience. There was nothing fake about her.


I could never be a copy of her talent. Instead, I could do my best to learn from her style to incorporate what I would fit me.

She was genuine, and her storytelling was electric.

I loved reading stories to my children when they were young. Because my storytelling was primarily before large groups, my style was theatrical, with broad gestures and movements. I always felt at home before a large group of children. My style in that context was quite different from reading a book to a small group of children. Even so, my heart was the same in both circumstances.


Your style is not something you know when you begin your storytelling life. As you learn the art of storytelling, you might watch other storytellers on YouTube. As you watch these videos or read my blogs, ask yourself, Can I do this? A better question might be, How can I incorporate parts of this in my storytelling? Trying to be a copy of someone else will never be satisfying. Be the best of what you can do. And realize that your style is evolving.

Your heart will tell you when you are in synch with yourself.
20 views

Comentários


bottom of page